No Parking

As I have mentioned previously (difficulty with new habbits) I have changed my daily routine, my goal is to go to the gym 5 mornings a week. While I have not been hitting the 5 morning mark, I have been getting there 4 mornings, which I think is a great result. My usual routine now is to wake around 5am and hit the gym by 5:30am for 30 to 60 minutes each morning.

There have been a varaity of reasons why I have not made the fifth day, pouring rain, late night the night before. Excuses yes, but I am happy with what I am achieving (espeically considering that I was not getting this exercise in at any other time during the day).

Getting around to the point of this post, I didnt make it to the gym this morning. It wasn’t because of lack of motivation, I was up and dressed ready to go. It wasn’t due to the weather, it was a little foggy but nothing to stop me. I didn’t make it to the gym this morning because I could not get my car out of the garage.

We live in a complex of townhouses, with two block’s of 3 townhouses facing each other. The area has been designed such that there is just enough room between the two blocks of house for you to get a large car out of the garage (yes, I agree not a very good design).

This morning as I went to get the car out of the garage, what do I find, but the neighbours car parked right in front of the garage. Given where the car was parked, there was no possibility of getting our car from the garage. To say I was a little frustrated is an understatement.

While the neighbour has only recently moved in, this is not the first time that he had parked block our garage. The previous time, I gave the horn a toot and he came out and moved the car. I didn’t think this was an option at 5:30am in the morning, it would not be fair on our other neighbours just because this guy didn’t think.

What frustrates me most is that he didn’t consider the consequences of his actions. The visitor car park for the complex is only 30 metres from our townhouses, and even if it was full there are other places he could park which would not stop anyone else from getting out.

Ironically directly under where he parked was a “No Parking” sign painted on the driveway.

Published by

Brendan

Husband, father, amateur photographer, rugby and cricket tragic (opps sorry I meant fan), small business owner and now blogger. This is not going to end well..............

3 thoughts on “No Parking”

  1. I also live in a townhouse complex. Albeit I have much more room for using my garage and driveway. But I am not stranger to inconsiderate neighbors. Imagine coming home from a long drive out of town visiting family only to find your neighbor’s guest were parked in your driveway?

    You are too congenial. I would have banged loudly on the neighbors front door, rang the door bell and then in very very quite voice calmly say “Please move your car.”.

    Like

    1. Khurt, I hear you. Tried banging on the door, but they were sound asleep, unfortunately it was evident the amount of noise I would have to make to wake them would have also woken our other neighbours who didn’t need there mornings to be ruined also for one idiot.

      So I wrote a pointed note and blogged about it instead.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

